How to file taxes?

Hi all,

I’m pretty new to hosting and I’m curious on what are some good ways to file my taxes. I rent out a room and I know there are certain rules on personal use and percentage use for deductions etc. Anybody have any suggestions?

Congratulations on hosting! The right way to file your taxes is to report your Airbnb earnings on Schedule C as a business activity and report all your Airbnb related expenditures like the 3% Airbnb fees (Airbnb included this fee as part of your gross income so you have to back it out). Other expenses you can deduct are fees for hiring a cleaning person or company, cleaning supplies, amenities provided to guests, furnitures, bedding, etc.

If you’re exclusively renting out a room then you can only deduct a percentage of your rent, utilities, insurance, etc. To determine the business percentage, you can measure the square footage of the room and divide it against the total square footage of your apartment or house.

To avoid an IRS audit, read up on our blog:

If you need more assistance, we provide tax consultation free of charge. You can drop us a note at www.getlevee.com/tax

Good luck!

Wow thank you so much for the response!

You’re welcome! If you have more questions, you can reach one of our CPAs at www.getlevee.com/tax. Cheers!

Quick question? Do most people file under rent & royalties or thy file under self employment category?

You need to determine if this schedule C or schedule E income. There’s some controversy over it. My CPA recommends E

1 Like

Cool. Thanks. Ive been reading a lot of people filing under schedule “C” self employment. I guess I can see how schedule “E” is more safer. Thanks again Kona.

KONA- Is there anything about AirBnb that is not complicated at all starting with booking, reviews, legalities and now taxation. LOL. Gotta love Air Bnb.