How to deal with first negative hosting experience

I know there are quite a few threads on this subject, but every situation is different, and its the first time I’ve had any reason to fault guests. So how should I - how would you? - approach dealing with the following…

I’ve been renting out a double room for several months with no problems of any kind and only just started also renting out a separate single room. Last night I had two unrelated bookings. Two teenage girls in the double room and a foreign male visitor in the single room here to see a football match. Their paths never crossed.

The girls were here for some music festival thing and went out in the early evening. 5.30/6am I wake to them tapping on the door knocker to get in, despite having a key. Turned out the male guest had gotten up for a smoke out front in the middle of the night and couldn’t figure out how to lock the door again when he came back in, so put the chain on…

But for that mistake I’d have never known it wasn’t the two girls coming in but just one of them and a young male who she said repeatedly was her brother. (If he was, where the hell did he come from as he clearly hadn’t driven up with them!). I was too perplexed by the mystery of the chain on the door to care.

So they went up…the other girl stayed out all night…and the obvious suspicion they’d each picked up a man was somewhat allayed by the fact there were no noises coming from the room to suggest he wasn’t just her brother. And I’d have said nothing anyway, despite my no unexpected guests house rule. It was 6am, my other guest was trying to sleep and no one wants to come across as a puritanical 1970s landlady. I figured, well I guess they booked for two and with the other girl staying out there are indeed only two people in the room.