How do I review a guest when my listing had an error?

A guest checked out early due to an error in amenities, our listing stated the pool was heated and it wasn’t.

I’m a co-host for a team with 6 listings at 3 properties. I’m a newbie with a month of experience. The guest messaged me asking to cancel the balance of his stay on his first evening. He said he chose our property specifically because it stated we had a heated pool and that we were using false advertising tactics. I asked him to hold on for a few minutes until I can get clarification from the owner. To make a long story short, The listing does state it was a heated pool, and it’s not; the guest checked out that evening; he was issued a full refund from the owner.
I have two days left to leave a review. Should I leave a review, and if so, how do I address the error?

Your review is to advise future hosts on this guest’s behavior. If their behavior was acceptable, then the review should reflect that. Be honest and unemotional. Based on the info given I might say something like “XXXX only stayed one night of a 6 night booking due to an error in our listing. They pointed it out immediately and we canceled and refunded. They left the listing in good condition and followed all property rules. They would be welcome back at any of our properties anytime and we recommend them to other hosts.”

7 Likes

Also, if there are any guests who have upcoming bookings, who booked before the listing error was corrected, they need to be contacted and told about the error, and offered either a full refund if they want to cancel, or a discount for the missing amenity.

6 Likes

Excellent suggestion :+1: :+1: Thanks for the advice.

1 Like

@FtLaudHost - Bob if as your name suggests you are in Fort Lauderdale, then you must be an excellent bloke. All the very best people live in Fort Lauderdale. :wink:

So this is not aimed at you particularly but is general advice for co-hosts.