Hosts beware! Wave of last minute scam instant bookings. Burglarized by one

I have been hosting for over 2 years In San Diego and never seen this happen.
In last 2 weeks I had one instant booker for one night, which tuned out to be a thief. $1000 worth of items stolen from the condo. Even though the instant booker supposedly verified the id with the Airbnb system, I think the system is automatic and will accept any id sent. AirBnb needs to fix this ASAP
Since the incident we started to verify Identity of everyone who books and will be checking in. So far 3 last minute late instant bookings for 1 night stay turned out to be scammers as well, I cant think of any other explanation. After I requested Identity verification from the instant-bookers there was no response, no phone calls, no cancellation, they never showed up. Im assuming there will be charge backs from the owners of the stolen credit cards…

May I ask where your Airbnb place is? Thank you!

edited my post… San Diego

Is Airbnb helping you?

Yes they are working with me on the unit that has been burglarized… What concerns me is that 3 other instantbookers after the incident simply never showed up after I mentioned identity verification.

Would you please explain “Identification Verification” – did they not have their ID verified on Airbnb or do you mean that you would verify it yourself, either via email or in person? This is very scary!

2 Likes

Did they had reviews?

Sorry, this happened to you.

But this could be a good thing for hosts that do not like IB to be forced on them.
Hope these kind of IB abuse gets out in the open.

1 Like

Yes, it is worth understanding that Airbnb does not manually check ID for verification. It is all done by software. And the company that designed that software went bankrupt. If you’re using IB I would most definitely turn on the option that says the guest needs to have one positive review before they can book.

5 Likes