Host Safety and Guests who are not who they say they are?

Any other hosts had an issue with a guest not being who they claim they are? or not doing the job they said they did?
I had a lady stay with me for 6 weeks. She was Chinese and went by her European name. She claimed to work at The University. Her story seemed very odd as over time we realised she barely left her room. and didn’t seem to go to work.
After she left I started to get Bank Statements in another name. When I contacted Airbnb I was told that due to “data protection” I cannot know the name of my guest!!! The lady who lived in my house and shared my home is unknown to me.
I then called the University. This woman does NOT work at the University.
I have had a stranger staying in my home. Who was this person?
I have tried calling emailing and Facebooking Airbnb. Nothing. I don’t even get a call back.
As a UK based lawyer my view is that "data protection " does not allow Airbnb to withhold the name of my guest from me. I have checked with other legal colleagues. Nonsense is the general opininon.
Also Airbnb have a duty of care to me as a host.
I have had no option but to withdraw from Airbnb and contact the police. But would like to make other hosts aware that if you have an issues with a guest like this. Airbnb are less than useless.
I have advised friends that if they have guests staying they should ask to see their passports. You have every right to know who is staying in YOUR home.
The moral of this tale is beware! I
I

1 Like

The first moral of the story is, lawyer or not, DO NOT RENT LONG TERM!

4 Likes

If a guest stays for 24 hrs or 24 days the host should be able to be secure in the knowledge that Airbnb will allow them to know the guests name.

4 Likes

I have stated in my house rules a valid ID or Passport is required upon check-in. I have never been asking for this, but I want to have the privilige to do so if I am suspicious or what ever.

4 Likes