High School Age Guests

I’ve rented out my spare room in Chicago on Airbnb for about 2 years now. I’ve been very open to having people of all ages stay, and have had only a few negative experiences. This morning, I received an inquiry from someone who’s profile has no reviews, the education section lists a high school in a nearby suburb, and a profile photo that indicates screams EDM. The booking is for 3 guests on a weekend in Chicago when there’s an Electronic music festival.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I’ve done my fair share of partying in my day, and I’ve been to this music festival before to take photos (I’m a photographer). Let’s just say I didn’t feel comfortable taking…like…any portraits because 90% of the attendees were under 18, visibly inebriated, and/or wearing less clothing than bikinis. Point is, I know the kind of thing that happens at this festival, and I definitely don’t want three 18 year olds sharing my home for this weekend. I mean, if they weren’t going to be getting f-ed up, wouldn’t they just make the 30 minute drive home each night after the festival?

So now comes my question. Has anyone here ever denied guests because everything indicates that they will disobey the house rules, or that they will be either consuming illegal substances or alcohol (underage)? I’m not sure how to deny this without coming off as an age-ist, or visibly assuming that they will be using my apartment as the “after party spot”.

Any helpful suggestions, or stories that could lend me some help with this?

One of the options for declining is “not a good fit.” They don’t have to know the details of why.

4 Likes

There are many reasons why you shouldn’t accept anyone under 18. But if this is your spare room and you’re there it might not be a problem. Do you allow 3 in the room? Why don’t you ask the purpose of their trip?

Fatigue probably causes as many accidents as drinking.