Help with a canoe

Our guest house is on a beautiful lake, so we thought that buying a canoe would be a good way to entertain our guests.

Is there a disclaimer that anyone else uses to protect us, just in case?

My son suggested to keep the oars at our house and not give them to anyone until they sign a disclaimer stating that they WILL wear the lifejacket.

Advice appreciated.

I would check with your insurance company and see what they require.

4 Likes

Not a good idea from a liability perspective or from the context of safety regulations. Disclaimers won’t always work if there’s some form of implied duty of care (I’m not a lawyer, but I know some laws apply regardless of disclaimers).

A canoe is pretty much a coffin in an untrained pair of hands. There will be some not-so-smart guests who would go out in a canoe without any experience, thinking they can wing it. I could be overly cautious, but its a litigious society and I won’t want to be undone by some conceited teenager who drowns himself or herself in a moment of stupidity.

2 Likes

Personally I wouldn’t do this, I think it would be far too risky in terms of liability.

Just because you ask guests to sign a disclaimer, won’t exempt you from liability if they have an accident.

Just direct them to somewhere on the lake that hires equipment.

2 Likes

This is exactly what we do. We were advised by a lawyer not to offer the things we’d like to for guests - bikes, kayaks and paddle boards. There is way too much liability even with safety equipment supplied, with disclaimers and with regular documented maintenance of the equipment.

We send guests to local firms that are properly licensed and insured.

2 Likes