Guests walked out because of my tarot cards

Tarot cards.
Hi, I enjoy reading topics and tips here and find comfort in discovering that others have similar experiences to me.
I’ve got a cottage and a wagon which I rent out. I’ve been renting the wagon out for a couple of years now and it’s gone fine until this evening when a guest has walked out. She messaged me after she left, saying she finds the tarot cards and related items have made her feel uncomfortable and she feels very strongly about this. I messaged her back saying that I only got them to go with the board games and I would be happy to take them away. She replied that it was too late as she had already left. The related items were a book on North Devon ghosts and a book on Devon witches. These were historical books really as I thought people might be interested in them. These aren’t the only books or cards. There’s a couple of shelves with a wide range of reading material. We try to cater for all tastes. We also have books on birds, butterflies and insects and have a pair of binoculars for guests to use. We also have Scrabble, ordinary playing cards, a board game called labyrinth and a jigsaw puzzle. I’ve never had this happen before. She said she’ll pay and won’t leave a bad review, but I suppose I should take out the tarot cards. Perhaps they are controversial. I’m not taking out the books on ghosts or witches, though. I really think that’s going a bit far. I just wanted to find out what other hosts think. Thank you:)

6 Likes

I’d say those cards ward off evil spirits. I’d keep them. I think I’ll get some for my Airbnb room.

For the future put a photo that includes a picture of the shelf where these items are displayed.

14 Likes

Thanks for that KKC . Perhaps I could send you mine :smile:

1 Like

I do too. But as hosts we have to realise that people are … well, let’s just say that many people don’t have the same tastes we do.