Guests not saying Hello

Hi! I’m a little new at this. My partner and I are hosting in our spare bedroom and currently have our 10th set of guests.
The problem is, they won’t talk to me.
They spend time in the room or bathroom and only come out ‘when the coast is clear’ and even when being in the lounge with them yesterday they refused to acknowledge me.
This is the second set we have had like this, both the same demographic.
Is this normal practice? I don’t expect conversation, but you are staying in my home, please at least look at me and say Hello.
Any suggestions or insights?

You say the she demographic… how are women treated by that demographic? Are they doing their cultural thing?

It may be a cultural thing I am not aware of, but they have both been sets of youngish girls travelling together.
Maybe just unaware of how they come across? Maybe uncomfortable staying in someones home?

THere are many people who a) just aren’t yet accustomed to the home sharing concept and/or b) aren’t used to the Airbnb culture and are, basically, shy.

I agree that it’s pretty rude to not even say hello to you but sometimes guests are naturally reserved. Our rentals are separate apartments and if a guest has used self-check-in, rather than being greeted by me, then often they don’t speak to me at all during their stay, despite our paths crossing regularly. I’ve had guest deliberately pull their hats down over their eyes to avoid eye contact! Some people are basically shy. Or, as @Debthecat says, it might just be a cultural thing - not anything that you’re doing wrong :slight_smile:

Just consider that some guests are just grumpy people!

2 Likes

Thanks guys, that makes me feel a bit better about it all.

Some folks prefer little to no communication. I am one of those people. Renting a room out doesn’t mean you have to say hello or talk to anyone. They pay for the service you render, not to say hello.

1 Like