Guests hanging around the house during daytime

I have been hosting for five months. We let our guest room through Airbnb. Our general expericence is positive.
We are, however, starting to notice a pattern. Most of our guests are active. They leave reasonably early and
come home reasonably late. Some guests behave a bit strangely. Instead of spending time in the city they tend to stay at home during daytime. They aren’t causing any major trouble but we still find this behaviour a bit annoying.

Would there be any clever way to handle this? To set strict rules about staying out of the house would be a bit rude but maybe there is some other way?

The only idea I have come up with so far is to block certain weekends. If people want to sit in the room while I am at work is not really a problem.

1 Like

If you find a way, let me know! One thing other hosts do is ask “what do you plan to do here in my town” or some such.

We had guests arrive early Saturday. They got showered and spiffed up, and went out for awhile. Came back with some food, sat around in (their) kitchen chatting, and stayed in all night. Then they left about 1:30 am. and returned about 4 am. Not my normal guest.

Mostly I wanted to know - where do people go at 1:30 a.m.? Or, maybe I don’t want to know… I almost asked them at breakfast but didn’t.

1 Like

Night clubs

Do you have 24 hour diners there?

Clubs, gambling…

We already had inquires here about it, and some hosts actually do just that: they tell guests that they need to be out and about. I personally cant imagine telling people how many hours they can spend in and out.

In a beginning of my hosting i was bothered by that too. I would not want to make anything on a kitchen when i had guests. But little by little i got used to the idea that i have people here all the time, and i dont restrict myself anymore on what to do around the house.