Guest wanting to extend stay

Hi, Im fairly new to the airbnb hosting thing. I have had a guest ask to extend their stay part-way though. Should I except cash or am I best to ask them to book through the airbnb website? Is it even possible to extend a stay through airbnb? look forward to your thoughts! allie

1 Like

rebook through air as you won’t be insured through air otherwise

1 Like

How long have they already stayed? And is this a shared space? - basically do you already see they are taking good care of the place?

1 Like

How do they extend the booking through airbnb?
Yeah it is a shared space and they have been delightful guests. They just want to stay 1 extra night which is fine with me.

Hi Alliefyfe
Ive had this before to, and I always tell them to go through Airbnb. It’s just the exact same process when they booked with you before:)

1 Like

ps: It’ll just be like a new booking

Actually, if they’re still within their original booking period, ask them to go into their profile, click “your trips”, then within the box that says current trip, and your property name, there will be a button saying “change/cancel reservation”. They can click that, amend their dates (add more time on the end) and it will revise the price.

They click ok, then you will get a reservation change request, which you can check the additional money you’ll get, and click accept if you agree.

HTH!

5 Likes

Since they have been delightful and just want an extra night then I would just collect cash and provide them a handwritten receipt. There is no need for them to go through Air and get charged extra booking fees. They have already fulfilled their reservation through Air. So I would consider this a separate reservation for one night.

4 Likes

As host you can extend it too, and I always keep it on air myself. Go to reservations page and click change/cancel and adjust for the new dates. If you charge cleaning fee then they don’t have to pay cleaning fee again, it’s already paid.