Guest not feeling comfortable, when asked what I can do to make them feel comfortable, they say nothing. ( ? )

Hello Fellow Forum Members!!
I am kind of new to the forum.

I do read (lurk) a lot of the posts to get good advice on hosting. I have been in AirBnb since 2013, so I’m not a newbie to hosting nor to the various types of guests out there.

This week we welcomed a third party guest for 11 days, parents of the person booking.

On check-in everything seemed to be fine. They arrived super late and I just managed to check them in before falling into bed.

Then I get a call from Airbnb the next morning telling me the guests want to leave. I asked why, and this is when it starts to get strange and ultimately annoying.

I host a one bedroom apt space in my house on the garden level, almost basement but not, as there is a basement as well, the listing is here: airbnb.com/rooms/1846100

It is an old brick row house brownstone in Brooklyn. Pre 1900’s old but still trying to charm us and the world.

The rental space I s not fancy, but in the NYC market it’s a very good bargain. It is big, has loads of amenities, and is private. Now this is what AB told me the guest are complaining about

• The guests do not feel comfortable in the space - I really don’t know what to do about that. I did ask.
• The floors creak - we have wooden floors.
• The mattress is hard and they can’t sleep - the mattress is a memory foam on a full/queen sized platform/slatted bedframe. Again there is nothing I could remedy about any of these things.
• They also complained that it was dark. It’s a row house so light is limited but we do have electricity.
We have been having thunderstorms here and it is very gray outside, no sunlight, and we are expecting the rains from Hurricane Florence in a few days. So no one has been getting very many sunny days here in Brooklyn.

Now, I asked “what I could do to make them comfortable?”, the response from Airbnb is that they said there was nothing.