Guest not answering since initial booking

So, I had a guest book about a week before his arrival date. It was an instant book and all he wrote was “we’re coming”. I asked what he was planning to come to Somerville for and got no response. His profile didn’t say where he was from, but his phone number is from China. So I assumed he didn’t answer me because of a language barrier.
Well, his check in date was March 10th. I sent him the check in details 2 days before and heard nothing back from him. I followed up with him to make sure he received the details and still heard nothing.
Now, it’s March 13th, he’s been in my apartment for 3 days, and he still has not answered me. I sent him a message to see how his stay is going and still nothing. He is there until Thursday the 16th so it worries me a bit.
I’m fairly new to hosting on Airbnb and I haven’t had this issue yet. I don’t know how to handle something like this and I’m not sure if it happens sometimes and if I should just let it go and not worry about it.
Any feedback would help! Thanks!

Give Airbnb a call and ask them if they can reach out to your guest.

1 Like

I take it you have self check in? I wouldn’t have sent the actual details about how to check in without hearing something back from the guest.

1 Like

Often times travelers have very infrequent access to internet. In rare cases, some people like to be disconnected from the internet as well.

It also sounds like there may be a potential language barrier. I’ve received very short, and sometimes strange, messages. It turned out the folks were super nice and friendly, but their english was not great.

It’s also not uncommon for me to have guests that I don’t see during their stay. The longest of these stays was 3 days for me. I would say that your experience with this guest is certainly out of the norm, but if they aren’t damaging anything or causing problems, just go with the flow :slight_smile:

1 Like