Guest coughing non stop

Hi, I had this guest who booked me for 6 nights. She said she’s coming for business. She arrived last night at 8 PM and like 5 min after closing the door of her bedroom she started to cough so badly, like wanting to puke. This like every 5 minutes or so. I was downstairs, watching a movie, she was upstairs in her room. After 2 hours of listening to her and debating what should I do I asked her if she had a test done for the cough. She said yes, that she had 2 negative tests and sends me a pic of a negative PCR result 5 days ago. Meanwhile she continued to cough. She said it’s nothing, it’s bronchitis. Now, I’m not a doctor and I do know there are other illnesses out there besides covid and that bronchitis could be caused by other virus.

All this time she did not wear a mask. I put a mask on and went to bed. She continued to cough badly. At 2 am I went online and I modified her reservation to be 1 night instead of 6. I explained that I wasn’t comfortable with her cough, that the test she submitted me was 5 days old and she might have contracted Covid meanwhile and that in my opinion she should call in sick and stay at home. I told her that at my workplace the policy is for us to stay at home if we are sick.

She accepted the change of the reservation and replied that I should mind my own business and that she’s seen a doctor.

Was I over reacting? My business is that I stay healthy! I since then modified the listing title to say “room for healthy and vaccinated guests”.

If I were in her place I would have never ever dared to go to an owner occupied Airbnb that sick or at least without disclosing that I was sick, the diagnostic etc… What do you think?

I mention that before Covid, in 2019 I did a similar thing when one of the guests coughed badly and you skinned me alive here on this very forum for lack of empathy.

3 Likes