Guest Cancels Mid Stay and Wants Refund

I’m relatively new to hosting (since January) and could use some guidance/advice. A guest made a booking last Sunday for this past Thursday, Friday, and Saturday (tonight) nights. When they made the reservation, they asked if they could have an early check-in. I quickly responded that it shouldn’t be a problem and asked what time they were hoping for. I didn’t get an answer, so the day before their arrival, I sent my standard blurb about directions, parking, etc. and again asked what time they were hoping to check in. It took them 12 hours to respond. Noteworthy is that they ended up checking in an hour later than my default check-in time (4 hours later than they asked) but didn’t communicate their change of plans. When they arrived, they asked for linens so they could make up the sleeper sofa. I live above the studio apartment that is the Airbnb; it has a queen bed and a queen sleeper sofa and accommodates a maximum of 2 people. In my listing I stress that the sleeper sofa will only be made up if requested in advance – my way of insuring that the 2-person max is adhered to, something I learned the hard way with my very first booking. I quickly brought down the linens, and they seemed pleasant enough in my 10-minute conversation with the couple. Last night, the second day into their trip, they sent me a text that something came up and that they had to leave a day early. They asked if they should cancel on the Airbnb app. I quickly replied that nobody has ever cancelled mid-trip before and wasn’t sure how they were going to handle it. I suppose I should have taken that opportunity to reminded them that my cancellation policy only gives a refund 5 days in advance. Airbnb contacted me next wondering if their was a problem with their booking. I told them that their early departure was a surprise to me. The couple left the place in good order, and on the standard feedback form I leave, they gave me glowing praise; but on their way