Ghastly Cooking Smells

Isn’t it ghastly when guests cook and create revolting smells which waft into my main house next door. Thank goodness their cooking area is an open verandah, so the smells can eventually dissipate. Currently I’m hosting some Japanese guests, and the cooking smells so vile… But we cannot demand they only cook clean, simple vegetarian meals, LOL… But it is so sickening for me to smell their cooking… Does it disturb other hosts too, the cooking smells of our guests?

IF I allowed cooking, it certainly would not bother me! But then, I’m a chef who cooks cuisines from around the world including Japanese(which btw is mostly vegetarian), northern & southern Chinese(ditto), Pacific islands, pan-European, northern and southern Indian (again mostly vegetarian), Latin and Central American, and pan North American.

If you’re so offended and sickened by anything other than ‘clean, simple vegetarian meals’, perhaps you should not allow cooking at all, since it obviously affects how you feel about your guests. Either than, or give up hosting anyone but “clean, simple (which I take means no spices) vegetarians”.

10 Likes

I’m largely vegetarian. I say 'largely because I do lapse if I’m in a restaurant and have the choice between boring roast vegetable or the luscious poached salmon.

But my meat-free cooking consists mainly of clean and simple dishes using fresh basic ingredients such as authentic curries, tagines & couscous, garlic laden Mediterranean food, and meat-free versions of dishes like cassoulets, bouillabaise etc,

I think that many people would find they can create ‘revolting cooking smells’, despite being clean simple, fresh and in many cases, culinary classics. To me, revolting cooking smells are those generated by greasy steaks and burgers, fries and nasty things like hot dogs and other over-manufactured ‘meats’.

One man’s meat … etc.