Getting host's opinions

Hello,
I know this is a bit strange. I’m a guest not a host but I would like a host’s opinion on this. I am an international student to study in France. The French embassy is Nigeria is really strict and won’t issue me a visa if the air b n b host does not provide a scanned copy of their ID and a utility bill to prove ownership. The host was reluctant to do this until I missed my visa appointment and I now have to be late to study. Finally, I am contacted by the host asking me to pay about €500 more in order to provide me with the necessary documents. I said I couldn’t AF

As a host I wouldn’t be prepared to send any of my documents to a guest like that for a visa. No chance, you;d be better off with student residences, why are you using airBnB which is essentially a holiday accomodation site.

I did eventually find a host who sent scanned copies of those documents to the consulate. What could the guest really do with your passport data page or ID that makes you uncomfortable? Would you be more willing if you charged more money? Especially after the guest has paid for the apartment. Unfortunately, I didn’t find any available spaces in the student residences close to the school.

A passport and utility bill would be all that’s required for someone to steal your identity. I might be willing to provide this info directly to the consulate but I certainly wouldn’t give it to a prospective guest. Not even for money. That’s weird. Glad you found a place. Good luck with your studies.

I’m pleased you got a helpful host and resolved the problem.

1 Like

I’m sure your request is legitimate as my son also had to provide proof from the residence hall that he was staying in for his exchange year. Normally the university has housing set up in advance for exchange students so they don’t have to struggle in foreign places with things like this? So I’m wondering why that was not the case for you.