Front lawn damage

Hi, I am fairly new to hosting and have a full house vacay rental. I lived there formerly and have a nice yard with flowers. This week was rainy and the family with boys in soccer camp played on the front lawn grinding the grass down to the dirt. Yea, it will grow back, but it is right in front! The kids didn’t mean to do that—they were practicing. I am dismayed. I have new guests coming today. Thoughts?

Do you have a rule against walking or playing on the lawn?

If not, I don’t know what recourse you have.

If you do or did, what recourse would you want? Do you have any written estimate of what it might cost to repair or treat while the grass is growing back? What is it that you want?

Do you have any evidence of what the lawn looked like before the rental? Some here have suggested videotaping the property with each turnover, using one of the free apps that show the time stamp. I’ve been doing this inside and outside.

We don’t have grass but sedum that cannot be walked upon. We state that in out rules and we have several signs from Etsy that say “Do Not Walk on Landscaping.”

You might want to edit your rules and get some signage. Or live with it.

You’ve come to the right place. There are experienced Hosts who can advise you. My view is one data point among that.

1 Like

There’s a green spray (seeds and fertilizer) that you can buy and spray on the lawn. That should help it look decent for your arriving guests. You can also purchase signs to put on the lawn to remind folks not to walk on the grass. If you didn’t have it in your house rules to stay off the grass, I doubt Airbnb will back you up. You might have to write it off as a business expense. Save your receipts.

1 Like

I have several of these.

I polyurethane the metal posts before putting them out.