For the hard to find locations, tricky addresses,

I have 3 words for you: what3words

1 Like

the what3words app, has split the whole world into 3m square plots, each identified by 3 different words. My address is human.winner.major.
A group of teens got lost after a 10 minute walk in the woods, rang 999 and the operator said to install the what3words app. Within a minute, the rescue team were on their way to the teens exact location!
Might that be an easier option for addresses of some locations? Might be a bit more user friendly than geo grid references and longitudinal numbers

5 Likes

Very cool! Thanks for that advice

1 Like

Very nice - definitely useful for Costa Rica!

Because I’m a tech nerd, I checked this out. I’m gathering they’re pulling the info from FB posts sent from different 3m spots in my home. Frightening.

But I got: reels.warms.kittens So apparently I’m fishing, toasty, and my cat is cute.

3 Likes

What a coincidence - I was reading about it this morning. At first I wondered if it was April 1st but the news was on the BBC which I tend to believe :slight_smile:

Data mining and data scraping at its finest. smh Heck of a time to give up drinking for 30 days…

3 Likes

Mongolia is using it for it’s postal system :slight_smile:

2 Likes

:rofl::rofl::rofl: Next time I’m in the UK, I’m staying with you just for the bon mots. Thanks for the giggle.

1 Like

Thanx so much!!! This is awesome!

I’m becoming a bit sceptic about how much they are under Government control, since the funding mess of the over 75’s free licences.

Whilst Mr J has a book constantly and prominently lying around, which I refuse to read, ( BBC: Brainwashing Britain by David Sedgewick), I heard a disturbing snippet on Radio 4’s PM as follows;-