Do Airbnb hosts sign contract with house owner?

Hi all, I’m a newbie to the Airbnb world. Just wondering if any Airbnb hosts in here have a specific contract that they sign with the house owner to sublet the house? Or a standard contract that states house owner agrees the host to sublet is sufficient?

Do you mean you are subletting without the owner’s permission or you plan to?
It’s good you are thinking ahead and wanting to get their permission.
There may be a few owners that allow it, but I would say most of us wouldn’t.
It’s a huge liability, causes excessive wear and tear and possibly bad relations with neighbors.

If you are going to do it, yes, get permission first. Then worry about the contract.

1 Like

I rent and have my landlords permission. I have lived her for several years, never paid my rent late and undertake basic repairs and maintenance myself at my cost. He does nada, as a result it was vacant for 6 months before I moved in. Jungle garden etc and we have spent $2000 clearing, planting lawn, vegie pathch, repaired paint on ceilings etc this was my bargaining chip. I am also in a half house situation with my place on bottom and another separate 3 bed house on top. Both are permanent rentals and he inherited both for free. He just wants the cash.

I got written permission to sublet the spare room, no conditions. He just wants his rent paid and what I offer is free maintenance and rent paid so he doesn’t care. Neither do the 3 students in the house upstairs who we share a garden with. So I’m lucky, you have to work out a way to sell what you offer to your landlord.

1 Like

Like @konacoconutz said, get permission first. I know personally 2 people who didn’t and got kicked out. Not worth it and getting kicked out could be the least of your problems.

2 Likes