Damage or Wear and Tear?

Hi!
I have been hosting our second home all summer on Air. Today when we went to clean we found that this week’s guests took one of the Ping-Pong Paddles and hit the table. It left big dents on the table and ruined the paddle. Is this considered normal wear and tear or damage? If damage I am not sure what to ask for. The table is still functional, and it was second hand to begin with. The paddle is not. Any thoughts are appreciated.
Thank you for the forum in general, this is my first time posting but have frequently been able to find the answer to my questions with a search.

Thank you for your time!
Beth

That is a difficult one.

Unless you saw them doing it, it is hard to prove damage.
We have a pooltable, and every year I have to replace all 4 of the cues, because they are broken or split.

I see it as wear and tear. My guests are happy with the table, and some of them even book my listing because of it. So it is worth some money.

1 Like

“Unless you saw them doing it, it is hard to prove damage.
We have a pooltable, and every year I have to replace all 4 of the cues, because they are broken or split.”

Thanks Chris,
I feel that way about the Paddle we had a group of younger kids and there was much…peeling that week. A little tikes basketball had its outer layer removed and a paddle had much of the rubber removed. I thought that was wear and tare and didn’t think much of it easily replaceable. The table is the hard part, but you are right I can’t prove it and otherwise they were great guests!

I think you would need a before photo of the table to prove your case and claim. However banging the table is not fair wear and tear, you’re meant to be banging the ball! You could introduce a deposit scheme for the table tennis like most holiday places.