COVID regulations here but Guests think its all a game

So I have a few properties in a particular state where COVID measures has been taken very seriously. The residents of this state agree that these are necessary practices to keep everyone safe and to prevent the shut down of our state economy again. Masks are not required outdoors but all establishments still require a mask to be worn. Additionally, cases are rising with the influx of tourist coming in. I have had many guests from states where masks are not required anymore and they seem to have trouble remembering to follow the guidelines outside of the property. It has been such a battle trying to stay cordial with tourist who are not following the steps to keep our residents safe.

Once, tourists off-board the plane and pass through the heightened security process they leave behind all worries and precautions they may have held prior to their vacation. As a host and resident I feel it is my responsibility to help my guests abide by the rules of our state but they all seem sick and tired of hearing about keeping each other safe. My main concern is that our business will have to take another long break because of a lockdown situation.

Has anyone else been experiencing these issues? What are some of the friendly ways you have discussed theses issues with your guests?

2 Likes

@SamWong it;s OK to say Hawai’i here. We’re multi-national so “state” (unspecified) can mean many things.

I think we’re all, in one way or another, experiencing the “entitled” guests who either don’t want to follow our rules, or the rules in our community for Covid.

All you can really do, other than vent, is strictly enforce YOUR rules on YOUR property, regardless of what state or local rules are. Either that or voluntarily shut down again. I know Hawai’i and most Hawai’ians depend on tourism. but “needs must” as they say.