Conflicted about December booking

Hello everyone,

I just got a booking request for Dec 18th to 21st (3 days). This is something I would (probably) accept if it was for August, say. Even though the guest’s photo looks a little bit like a serial killer :-), and he has no reviews or any information on his profile, and I could not find any information about himself online (his name is really generic), he replied quite fast and reasonably to requests.

But a bigger concern is simply how far away that booking is. It’s over 5 months in the future. Unfortunately, Airbnb doesn’t allow hosts to customize how far in the future one can book. So it’s either 3 months or 6 months. Currently I’m set to 6 months. I’m debating switching to 3 months, but I’d be willing to go a bit further out than 3 months. Also, I’d be willing to be a bit more flexible if the booking looked particularly good - say, a couple of weeks for someone with very good reviews.

I’m fairly new at this. So, I’m wondering how much of a longer term commitment I should really be making. Though I think I’m probably in it for the (fairly) long haul. For one thing, I need to get back the money I already spent on setting it up. Also, I need the money (like everyone else).

Would it be reasonable to leave it at the 6 month level and just decline people who are too far out in that period? Or is that unfair to potential guests?

If I decline this booking request, it will be the first I have declined.

@faheem
Mmmmm, this is a tough one. I set longer stays for holiday time and I increase my rate. If you haven’t done so and would rather hold out just put a minimum stay for the holiday weeks. What do you think? BTW, do you ever sleep? Lol

Is it possible to customize like that? But my immediate question is whether to decline or not. And is it possible to get better rates for that time period? I don’t know.

Heh. I was sleeping earlier. I woke up. 9 pm to 2 am. Something like that.

1 Like