Collecting Local Tax

I have been hosting for over 2 years on Airbnb and collecting the tax portion at check in. I have indicated in the house rules section and through a message to the guests - the tax is due at check in and the amount. I collect the money and provide a receipt with my tax number as required by law. Never has it been a problem with the guests and I have had hundreds this season alone.

I got this process from an article in the tax section on Airbnb and through this forum.

My problem - Yesterday I got an email from the resolution center telling me that I could not collect the taxes the way I do (so I called) and was told if I continued, I would be flagged and my account cancelled. They suggest that I open a resolution claim for each booking that guests can approve or decline the payment (collecting tax is not an option). I went back to the article on Airbnb and sent them a copy to prove I was doing what they told me to do. Today I got another email confirming what they sent the day before (open a resolution), went back to the article I copied yesterday and it was changed!

I know a lot of you collect the taxes the same way, has anyone else received this type of communication from Airbnb and if so what have you done?

3 Likes

Have Airbnb just started collecting tax themselves in your area?

No - That is the major problem. Not everyone has to charge tax here. Only if you exceed 30 k in revenue per year is it required.

1 Like

Curious…do you begin collecting the tax only after you have reached the 30K mark?

Yes up to 30k is exempt.

So how do you handle knowing which transactions will need to have tax collected? Does it go by date reservation was made versus date of stay?