Code enforcement

Hello all, I am new to this forum. I had a recent experience that caused me to Google “Neighbor complains to City” and that’s how I found this site. Glad to be a member. Let me further explain…

I am relatively new to the AirBnB business, just started this past January 2018. I really like the income it has generated for me, I’ve averaged about $700 per month, which isn’t too shabby. My home is large, on a quiet cul-de-sac, and all of my guests so far have been very quiet, considerate, and non-nuisance type of guests. I only allow 2 max. guests, and I only rent out 1 bedroom in my home (my guest room).

Well, yesterday a notice from the City Code Enforcement was placed on my door, to “cease operating a ‘bed and breakfast’ on the property” – or incur penalties and criminal charges. Of course, I called Code Enforcement right away. At first, the officer was very gruff (I guess he was expecting an angry, confrontational person), but then later was kind and considerate, when he realized that all I wanted to do was straighten out the situation. As I told him “I certainly don’t want to do anything illegal. Please tell me what I need to do to make this legal.” He then instructed me to contact the City’s Bldg. & Safety Department, to obtain a permit. I told him I would comply immediately.

So today, I visited the City’s Bldg. & Safety Department, and showed the person the notice from Code Enforcement. I told him that I was here to obtain a permit, so as to make my BnB “legal” and such. I also stressed to him that I only allowed 2 guests at a time, and only 1 room in my home was being used. I also let him know that I did not cook breakfast (that’s also listed in my ad on AirBnB - no breakfast or any other food is included).