Cleaning - new to AirBnB

Hello,
I’m very new to AirBnB, we’re looking into booking an airbnb cottage on Bali (we have never done this before). Firstly, the host doesn’t seem to like answering messages… so that I’ve heard, my question will be: we’ll be required to pay for cleaning, will it be ethical to ask them to clean the house every second day since we’re thinking to book for a week? We enjoy for the rooms to be cleaned (as we are holidaying) on regular basis with no necessity for the linens to be changed daily.

Thank you greatly :slight_smile:

If you want the rooms to be cleaned frequently, expect to pay for that extra service. Many places offer to have their housekeeper tend to your space, but then request that the housekeeper be paid by you.

For longer term guests, I clean their rooms once a week which includes a full change of linens. Since my rooms are within my house, I don’t have to worry too much about garbage since they are not cooking.

Enjoy your Bali vacation!

The cleaning fee is more like a preparation fee, it should even be renamed on the website as such. Moreover, the fee does not mean to have on demand /routine clean service, it is to cover the costs to prepare the place for you, since the hosts need to pay a cleaning lady per time or hour to clean the place.

If you need everyday cleaning I believe you would need to pay per time/hour as well. Some hosts may provide the service for you, some won’t. That’s due to the logistics of cleaning (availability of cleaning lady etc) and also te nature of the lodging (not a hotel). Hosts do not have housekeeping employees so I doubt most will accept your requirement.

It doesn’t hurt to ask your host, though.

But remember, Airbnb is not a resort where you have full staff in stand by, it is a place where homeowners (mostly) open their primary or vacation home to guests in a clean, comfortable, enjoyable way so they can relax and enjoy their vacation.

1 Like