Cleaning for long term?

Hello I am new to Airbnb
I am currently renting entire home to someone for 2 months. I said when they booked a cleaner would come. Do I have to ask the guest if they can come or do I say the cleaner is coming, I don’t want the house to get dirty but I also don’t know wether I can tell the guest what to do!

I can only find info about cleaning for shared spaces not entire home so is it different?

Newness rubs off after a bit. You can do whatever you want. It IS your house.

Most of us would not rent for a two month block. Depending where you are, there can be “renter’s rights” kick in at the 30 day mark, which can make it difficult to remove a guest who does not want to leave at the end of a 30 day stay…

I would have a cleaner come every other week. You don’t ASK the guest, you TELL them “the cleaner is coming Monday at 10AM, and will also change the sheets and towels.”

YES you or the cleaner changes the sheets and towels every other week. Two months on a set of sheets is ridiculously filthy!.

4 Likes

I have been renting out 2 my apartments in Melbourne since 2 years. Most of of my guests stay for longer terms as people who come to visit Australia from Europe, Asia or US tend to stay longer than a couple of days. I understand your dilemma between your house getting dirty and being impolite to guests, but I can assure you that nobody would not sayno to a weekly cleaning and fresh sheets. If you told them at the beginning that the cleaner would come you should not worry about it at all! I hope this helps to minimize your concern:)

1 Like

weekly cleaning it’s normal

But you can only charge the cleaning fee once using the AirBNB platform, correct? [Another real miss !]

I am in New Zealand so it’s a bit different here regarding rent rules etc. I would normally rent for 2 months but it was a trusted person, I interviewed them etc.

Thanks for the tips, instead of asking if a cleaner can come I will tell them!