Cleaning fees - why & when to charge?

I’m fairly new at this, renting two private rooms. I’m confused about the cleaning fee, why one would charge for this. When I go to a hotel I don’t pay a cleaning fee, indirectly I do in the room rate so why not just roll ones fees into room rental rate?

Here is my concept of cleaning…

If I rent a room for $50 per night (no cleaning fee)
On a one night stay, I make $50, or $50/night.
On a 5 night stay, I make $250 or $50/night.
For a cleaning - how often do you clean each of those units? Once each stay - right? So if you have cleaning calculated into your nightly rate, you may have overcharged the 5N stay. The 1N stay takes a lot more work…

So - say it takes you an hour to clean each unit @ $20/hour.
With a $20 cleaning fee added:
On a one night stay, I make $50 + $20 cleaning. $70 total 70/night
On a 5 night stay, I make $250 + $20 cleaning. $270 total. 54/night
But - if you have five 1N stays, you just spent 5 hours cleaning. What a hassle! You really want the 5N people, because it is so much less work for you to clean for them.

It is really what you want - do you have time to go clean? Or what if you hire out for cleaning to someone else?

7 Likes

Think of it as a discount for those who stay longer than one night.

2 Likes

That’s one of the reasons I don’t charge a cleaning fee. I don’t want to give a discount to people who stay more than one night. I love one-night stays. They are gone early in the morning, which means I have my apartment all to myself all day.

Guests staying more than one night tend to hang around a lot of the time, talking to me, asking questions, taking up my time.

1 Like

It used to be that Airbnb showed the listing price without the cleaning fee. Those who charged a cleaning fee included in the price found that they looked less competitive in comparison to other listings which separated out these costs.