City of Los Angeles threatening My Airbnb listings What do I do?

Hi all,

I’m in a predicament. I have two Airbnb listings at a duplex I own in Los Angeles. I have been doing this since March 2017 and it has been great! However I just had a building inspection from the city to see if I am up to code ( I am and was even told so by the inspector the building is perfect).
HOWEVER he did mention that he thinks my units are Short-term-rentals aka Airbnb listings and that he would be sending over my address to his supervisor to open up an investigation.

I didnt think much of it and thought it would blow over because there are simply too many listings in LA for anything to happen. We just received a letter in the mail warning that a case has been opened and that our “violation” (short term renting) needs to be addressed.

I dont know what to do here in this predicament. I could cancel all my reservations and make it seem like it is a regular rental, or perhaps just make it a regular rental but I really want to avoid that and continue my airbnb business model.

Any advice from anyone that has gone through this in Los Angeles???

thanks.

Alex

Are you sure that the building inspector was a real building inspector? When we went to a Los Angeles City Council meeting a member of the Planning Commission said that contrary to widespread belief, Airbnb is legal in most of Los Angeles. Who exactly was the letter you received from?

1 Like

Thanks for the reply. The letter is from the Systematic Code Enforcement Program Central Regional Office. Also has a HCIDLA icon on the top left of the letter.

Return address was: 3550 Wilshire Blvd. Suite 1500
Los Angeles, 90010.

Airbnb IS legal in LA? The information on that seems cloudy at best from my online searching…cant find the “laws” anywhere that say it is definitely illegal.