Check-in experiences?

Hi,
what are your experiences with the check-in process?

My listing is in an apartment tower with a 24h security desk. I have been hosting there for 3 months, and generally, everything is fine. Until now, I have done all check-ins personally, so I had to drive there (25 min.), wait for the guest (xx min.), show them around (10 min.) and drive back (25 min.). Unfortunately, some guests were extremely late or took 2:00h for the way from the airport (which takes 0:30h normally), so sometimes I had to wait for 1 - 2.5 hours in the lobby of the building.

So I thought about depositing the keys, the detailed house manual and a very nice welcome letter at the security desk. Apart from that, I would be available for the guest on phone, text message, whatsapp all the time, to explain things, if necessary.

(I have a handyman who lives just 10 min away and works from home, he can handle urgent issues (like for example AC problem))

Good idea? Have I forgotten anything?

Do you think this affects my reviews in a negative way? Has anyone switched from personal check-in to key deposit?

I would be glad to hear some experiences.

Best wishes,
Thomas

2 Likes

I always do the check-ins personally, but to avoid waiting for guests for hours, I ask for their flight/train number to get informed of any delay, and ask them to send a SMS or Airbnb message once they are in the taxi at the airport/bus at the station/30 minutes away according to their GPS.

I think that meeting your host/guest is part of the ‘Airbnb experience’ and would really dislike doing otherwise, either as a guest or a host. Maybe it depends on your target market, but I can feel that the vast majority of my guests really enjoy being greeted by a real person they can informally talk to.

Hi Thomas