Car insurance mail

Hi,
I have a guest that has booked a stay March 24-April 28. She has not arrived yet. So far I have received 4 letters in her name from Geico. I am not comfortable with that. Unfortunately though it was not in my house rules ( I have added it since.) would it be wrong of me to reach out to her now and tell her I am not allowing mail even though it wasn’t in the rules when she booked? I have been renting my master bedroom suite long term for the past 5 years without any problems, mostly traveling nurses. I have had people get packages here but not mail. I just don’t want any opening for someone to try to declare residency or something. Thanks for your help.

1 Like

Conveniently just over the amount of time to establish residency.

Then maybe you’re overdue. Do you have the tenants sign a real lease?

I’m not one of those hosts who worries about mail. I get misaddressed mail here all the time and have for decades. It takes far more than mail to establish residency. However, this combined with length of stay is worth spending a little time on. I’d ask the guest about it as a starting point, not asking us. Then if you are uncomfortable with her replies, go from there. If you don’t have a lease, make sure you get one signed ASAP, before she arrives.

7 Likes

I don’t know where you are located but if you’re in the US she is likely considered a tenant with a stay of that length. And a tenant has a right to receive mail. It is illegal for you to deny it.

And it’s nothing to worry about it anyway. It doesn’t change the facts of the situation.

2 Likes

Yes, it would be inconsiderate of you and if it wasn’t in your rules at the time she booked, then she can ignore it anyway.

Legally, as a tenant, she would be entitled to get mail so you should check with your local authority to see if that applies in your area.