Can't turn off the kitchen light?

Hello fellow hosts,

I’m a newb, hosting only since Thanksgiving 2015 - some 4 weeks now. Have had An Iraqi, Brazilians, Indian’s, Chinese and a dude from Long Island. All but the LI guy have an allergy to turning off my kitchen light. I have a 1440 sq ft townhouse so it’s not like a huge place where you twaddle all about forgetting where you just were. The kitchen is right by their room, 3 steps. I don’t get it.

And while I’m kvetching, it’s 11:40 pm and I’ve just had to give my first “ssshhhh” to the young “visiting scholar” at Harvard University from China husband-wife. (Both are PhD’s). Their 5 yr old daughter is tromping all over the tile floor living room whilst eating a bowl of cereal, and the inside door to the garage is ajar cus they’ve been doing laundry for over two hours. They are a one night booking! Apparently they just left Orlando, heading for Key West, and stopped in Miami for their re-charge of laundry and cooking. Don’t get me started on their bring their own cookware, food, spices etc etc etc.

I’m learning, aren’t I? and, not sleeping. :confused:

2 Likes

Hello Lady,

I was also having trouble with guests leaving porch lights on. Two very bright ones, and one right under my bedroom which would keep me awake, while the other one would shine into the neighbors’ houses. It’s very very easy to do and very easy to forget. I would show them, remind them, put it in the house rules and yet they would still do it.

Finally, I just realized the simple solution was to remove the bulb from one light fixture, and put a 10-watt bulb in the other. Problem solved. I know you can’t do that with your kitchen light… but what about leaving some low-watt ambient lights around the area so that at least the area can still be lit. Perhaps then they wouldn’t touch the light.