Can you set up STR with a bed set up fee?

Airbnb recently told me that I can not charge a bed set up fee and that they would shut me down if I did not remove from my listing.

Here’s the space, Room 1 - king bed, Room 2 - set up as a den or 2nd bedroom with twin bed. My rates are based on two people. If a third person is booked, an extra $25 is added per night. This also clues me into setting up the den as a bedroom. No issues.

Previously I would state that your reservation includes the king size bed for 2 people. If three people then the king bed and the twin bed. If 2 people but want 2nd bed there’s a flat rate $10 bed set up fee. (I added this because I have to pay my cleaner more and there is more laundry (Blanket, linens, towels,). I have been doing it this way for nearly 2 years with no complaints.

When I previously charged per person I would sometimes get angry guests and guests that weren’t disclosed so this works out better.

I really don’t want to set up two separate listings for the space.

Does anyone know a work-around?

I think your request makes sense and I wish AirBnB could see that. There are direct costs related to a second bed.

3 Likes

What kind of bedding do you use?

For this reason we (and most hotels) !only use single size duvets or blankets. If 2 guest book they get 2 duvets and 2 pillows. All beds will be covered with sheets.

If a guest wants to use use the other bed, he can move his duvet and pillow.

The extra laundry is minimal. And you need a sheet on the extra beds anyway to protect the matress.

Example pic from the internet:
image|690x238

There is a fee from my cleaner to make up the second bed. Thanks, but your comment doesn’t resolve how to set up the booking correctly with Airbnb.

Also, the second bed is a daybed with a daybed cover and pillows so it’s a bit more work to make the bed.