Can a host find out if the guest left a review?

I’m a newbie host and just had first 2 stays. The first guests were excellent, however the second guests left the house dirty (food crumbs on floors, unwashed dishes), swapped one of my fishing rods with theirs (mine only cost $25 and theirs is worthless), left fish smell on some of my towels. They only stayed 2 nights and just from viewing the cameras, they may have more than 12 guests allowed. My questions are:

1. Is there a way for me to know if they left me a review? I have not post my review for them yet.
  2. Should I consider it a loss and move on? I know they will give me a good review.
  3. If I give him a sub par review, can they go back and edit their review to give me a bad one?
  4. My current plan is to send him message and only tell him about the fishing rod. But if I do that he may not want to leave me a good review. What to do?

Thanks in advance.

@Slingster, if your guests left you a review already, there will be a notice about it on your Airbnb Host page.

The review you leave should objectively reflect the condition they left your house in—provided your house rules and/or checkout instructions specify that they are to sweep, wash dishes, etc.

If you decide to message the guest about the fishing rod, I’d wait to do so until after you and the guest both review. If the guest doesn’t review, I’d wait until the 14-day review period has expired to do that. But as another host mentioned below, I wouldn’t consider that a big loss. If you have valuable (either in monetary value or value to you) items at your location, I suggest removing them or replacing them with less valuable ones that you can easily afford to lose.

Also, while it’s important to review honestly (mainly for the benefit of other hosts), nothing that you’ve mentioned seems really bad to me. For example, the fish smell on the towels should wash out, right?