Booking Guests With No Ratings

Noob here. I’ve hosted 4 times so far and one of my guests had no ratings but I took a chance and all went well. A group of 4 people want to book for a week and the person booking doesn’t have any ratings and left no information about what the trip is about. I am hesitant to accept the booking - what’s your experience?

I have hosted for over 10 years and have had many first time guests who consequently have no rathngs. (99% have been fine). I would worry a little more about people who have been members for a long time with no ratings. There are legitimate reasons such as their partner using booking under his/her own name, etc. but it might occasion a question from me. From reading in this forum the larger the group, it seems the larger the risk. Much depends on your own tolerance for risk. Even a less than ideal guest can help you tweak your place, your description and your processes.

4 Likes

There’s this nifty thing called communication. Requests give you 24 hours to communicate with guests before deciding whether to accept or decline.

7 Likes

I have hosted many guests without ratings and they have been wonderful. I have also hosted five star guests that were awful. One really can’t relay on reviews too much because some management companies that are hosts will give every guest a five star review even if they were horrible PITA guests.

9 Likes

My problem guests have mostly been from this category.

Same experience.

I like hosting new to Airbnb people.

4 Likes

Think exactly why this is? I would estimate that 50% of my Airbnb guests are new with no ratings. No problem.

4 Likes

@mastorama – YOU are a 'noob" Did you ever stop to think that maybe people aren’t booking with you because you don’t have many reviews???

People without reviews are NOT automatically bad guests!