Booking.com send massive invoice for relocating guest

I’m new to the hosting scene, starting out with AirBnB. It seemed pretty straightforward: guests send booking requests, I confirm if the dates work, and everyone’s happy. Then I decided to expand my reach by listing on BookingDotCom. What caught me off guard is that guests there can book instantly without my approval, and unfortunately, I can’t opt out because my country isn’t on their list of eligible countries.

So, my first booking rolls in, and that’s when I realise I’m locked in once the guest books. Trouble was, those dates were already booked on AirBnB. I messaged the guest right away, apologising and explaining my newbie status, that I hadn’t synced my calendars, and that my place wasn’t available. Plus, the booking was for way down the line – three months in advance.

The guest responds saying they cancelled, but BookingDotCom needs 24 hours to find them another place without extra charges. So, I figured I’d let them sort it out. But then, silence for four months.

Suddenly, BookingDotCom sends me an invoice for 400 EUR due by month’s end, citing “Compensation / complaint charges paid on your behalf.” The reason? “Relocation - cannot accommodate guest.” Absolute nonsense, right? The original booking would’ve only cost the guest 250 EUR.

I called their customer service, and let me tell you, it was rough. The rep was downright condescending, insisting I pay up.

I’m not keen on paying, and frankly, I don’t care if they ban me because I don’t plan on doing business with them again anyway. My only worry is whether they’d escalate this legally. I doubt it, but my partner’s concerned they might go as far as sending bailiffs.

Would love to hear your thoughts on this. Thanks!