Booked at price lower than listed?

I’m new to AirBnB hosting. I just started hosting in July. I’m still trying to figure out how Smart Pricing works.

I have Smart Pricing turned on and I have set my Min-Max range to $73-80.

My understanding of this is that this means the rates will be adjusted within that range.

However, today, I got a booking and it was for $59/night. How can that happen if my range is $73-80?

I checked the calendar dates and looked at the price per night settings and there is this one week where the prices are listed between $59-$69 / night–but I have never set my range that low.

How do I prevent this? Is this being caused by the Smart Pricing being on? Is it better to just turn Smart Pricing off?

I am just guessing but maybe you had some extra promotion (discount) as new host , for example maybe you gave extra discount for first 3 guest, airbnb tries to promo that one on new hosts. Could be a number of other reasons, you can choose dates in the calendar that the smart pricing doesn’t apply to, weekly discount, etc. I doubt it’s a glitch, never had a pricing glitch I 10 years of hosting happen to me.

I personally don’t recommend smart pricing. I find that their rates are usually too low plus I have read other’s that have issues with the coding. I just manually adjust my rates as needed based on event, availability and what the market is getting based on my manual searches.

I like smart pricing. I am inclined to think that @balivilla has hit the nail on the head however and that it was some new host promotion. It’s a long time since I started with Airbnb but I imagine that someone here will be able to tell you how to opt out?

There are quite a few hosts here who think that smart pricing is the work of the devil but it’s always been fine for me.

A couple of things though.