Bad review, low prices:dog smell

I have been hosting for almost two years now. It’s a slow season so I lowered my pricing in half in hopes for more bookings and nicer reviews.

Well I rented out my entire house to 6 construction workers for $145 a night -super cheap.

I got a bad review about the house smelling like dog. -well there is a dog in the listing but this is the first time ever that anyone has mentioned it. In fact on Halloween someone told me that my house smelled great like essential oils.

Anyway two questions. 1. Does lowering the price of your listing generally reflect better reviews?
2. How can I get rid of or prevent dog smells?
-I do have the carpet professionally cleaned every other month.

We had a similiar situation with a ‘cat’ smell. The people were just trying to get there money back bc they found cheaper accommodations. We don’t have carpet, but that may be a good option.

Unfortunately, it’s difficult to get rid of dog smells in a carpeted house. We have all wood, tile and linoleum floors as carpets hold dirt and odors. Does your house have windows on all sides? The best thing you can do to get rid of odors is open all the windows as much as possible. If your pets have an accident, Anti Icky Poo is the best for removing the odor.

2 Likes

I hope this isn’t a dumb question, but is it necessary to have a carpet? I’m not a carpet fan. Perhaps consider a nice wooden floor instead. Or even tile. Much easier to clean.

2 Likes

I swear by this stuff:

All their stuff works: Biocide Systems

All wooden floors at mine apart from in the bedrooms.

The urine is in the carpet underpass, you will never get rid of it with carpet cleaning. Save your money on various products, pull up the carpet and get laminate installed. You may need to seal the wood underlay with Kilz as the urine will have soaked through.

1 Like

I’m budgeting to take the carpet out.

1 Like

Sounds like a plan. :slight_smile:

There is no need to spend that kind of money.