Avoiding burnout

A previous guest contacts me and wants to book but there are so many back-and-forth messages about a discount, a family member wants to stay in high season, a friend wants to book for her daughter’s graduation, AirBnB removes my super host status (long story, but mostly because I have a short season with a remote cabin that is inaccessible in the winter and not worth the angst of renting). Anyhow, none of these things are a big deal and in fact I should be grateful for people who are interested in my cabin. Still, I’m finding myself completely unmotivated and…I don’t know…maybe even annoyed? I’ve been doing STRs for 7 years - 2 with a property management company and 5 on my own - and I love being a host for the most part. So why is it that I feel so unmotivated this year? I know this is an AirBnB forum, but to provide some context, I happened to go onto VRBO a couple of weeks ago and noticed that I hadn’t even opened up my calendar for the summer! Ridiculous! I have a lot of respect for many of the hosts here on the forum and I wonder how you all have avoided the lows of STR hosting?

I’ve been hosting since 2016, with a break of almost 2 years during Covid, as I have a homeshare listing.
I’ve had very few guests who were a PITA to deal with, my bookings are seasonal (the opposite of yours- it’s too hot and humid here during the summer to get many, if any, bookings).

I leave a night between bookings, and often have several days between them, so I avoid getting stressed out about quick turnarounds. Also I homeshare and only host one guest at a time, so I don’t have to make sure guests know how to work everything, as I’m here to show them.

Like you, I also lost my Superhost due to not enough bookings, but that was because of being closed during the height of Covid. (The loss of that status didn’t affect my booking rate, though)

I also get lovely guests who are almost all easy to deal with. So I haven’t reached burn-out stage.