Attention US hosts: Are you raising your rates for Labor Day weekend?

I am considering raising my rates and doing a 3 night minimum stay for Labor Day weekend… It feels like a risky double whammy. Anybody doing this?

I have been booked for Labor Day weekend since the beginning of July :slight_smile:

And yes, the rates were higher.

I raised my rates a little because there is a small music festival going on that weekend. I’m booked already for the two days of the event. This is not ordinarily a tourist town so anytime there are events that I think might attract the ABB crowd I will raise my rates a bit, not to the point of gouging though.

I know, it seems a bit late in the game, but thus far I have been making days in my calendar available week by week. I’m pretty new to hosting and doing it this way has kept my stress level down:)
I just wonder if I’m jumping the gun (or being too greedy). I’m about 5 weeks in and have 7 reviews (all good)…

1 Like

I was new to this game and Labor Day was snapped up [with two different reservations] at my low introductory rate. However, neither reservation had a clue it was Labor Day! The first reservation are folks from the Netherlands and the other one is traveling from New Zealand. I will pay better attention this year to major events such as college graduations, Head of the Charles, 4th July, etc.

It’s a business and it’s all about supply and demand. I raise my rates for holidays. Labor Day weekend was booked a month ago. It’s a good idea to check with your chamber or local university to see what’s coming up. Of course, being new, you want to get those positive reviews in before you can match the rest of the market.

What is that? I learn so much here!