Article I thought you would be interested in

I thought you may like to see this.

1 Like

Interesting. According to the article there are 450,000 hosts but I’d read a higher number elsewhere like 650,000. And frankly I thought there were more than that. Maybe that’s just a US number?

I don’t know any current teachers who are also Airbnb hosts but I know some that are ride share drivers.

Like you, I’m thinking the 450K is USA only. I know two retired teachers doing rentals and one current teacher seeking to purchase a house that could be easily used for rental (she would live upstairs and rent out the downstairs or something similar)

I’m a teacher : ) My husband as well. Our salary isn’t so bad but it’s the medical insurance premium that takes a big bite out of the paycheck.

3 Likes

For short term rental or a lease? I’d be so nervous to make that kind of investment for STR.

@KKC.

Looking for house with finished basement with STR or LTR Potential close to a university.

1 Like

I wonder if they are only counting those that are licensed?

I doubt it. Most hosts aren’t licensed and aren’t required to be licensed. I’m not.

1 Like

I’m technically required to have a license but only 4% or so actually do in this area. They only bust you if someone complains, and I got the letter. I know who it was. I have a busybody in my cul de sac that was always running over and approaching guests asking what they were doing. I have max occupancy of three, renters. Mind your own business!

1 Like

Yes. I have a busy body neighbor too. I think a dirty sock and duct (use 121) tape could do wonders for her ability to get along with people (ok ME).

1 Like

hahaha. this strikes a cord. I spend way too much time thinking of the evil things I could do to her. She has been a bane to my existence for 17+ years now. Get a life lady!

That is exactly what I have. Works well.

1 Like