Are you aware that your Airbnb expenses can be tax deductible?

Hi guys,

Sorry to bother, I was wondering if you could help me post a survey?

I am an MBA student that is researching the “new economy”. Meaning, we want to understand if people are aware that with this new income, it should be treated as a micro business, they can deduct taxes, or aware whether being in business actually makes sense?

I appreciate if you could help me. We are offering a gift card as a token of appreciation.
Thank you,
Alberto

That surely depends on the country @amchan???

In the UK it’s not considered a business if you rent a room in your home. You don’t deduct taxes because you don’t pay any in most cases (up to around £7000 ).

Expenses can be deducted, not income.

You need to vet with a mod before posting so I am unlisting for now.

1 Like

Can you tell us a bit more about your research - where you are studying etc

1 Like

The link at the top says they are grad students at Carnegie Mellon. His name, Alberto Chan, checks out. He has a LinkedIn profile. I filled out the initial request and am awaiting a reply.

1 Like

ok great - let us know!

Yes! Sorry. We meant only US :slight_smile:

Opsss. That is what we meant. Expenses can be deducted :slight_smile:

Sorry for the trouble

Yes,

My name is Alberto Chan, I am an MBA student at Carnegie Mellon. Please feel free to look at my LinkedIn. linkedin - amtchan87

We are currently in an entrepreneurship class which we were assigned the new economy, seeing that there are many apps out there tailoring to this segment.

We have a budget, so we are using it to thank people for the time to help us understand better the challenges of being a “new economy” entrepreneur. So, if you spare a time to have a quick chat, we will give you a $20 USD gift card. Valid only for US. Sorry.

Thank you for the help.
Alberto