Are guests willing to pay for food/wine if offered?

I’m new to Airbnb hosting and was wondering whether guests would be happy to pay for food/wine/drinks/products (locally made)? If yes, what’s the best way to receive payment? Thank you!

The answer is some guests may be prepared to pay depending on your target market, location, type of food. price point, what else is available locally.

Some hosts have a price list of local gifts/foods and you can arrange for guests to pay you directly. @Alwaizhappyy

If you want to sell wine you will probably need an alcohol license. (and for fresh food too). Check with food and alcohol regulations in your location.

5 Likes

I was an Air guest at a farm last year not far from Asheville, NC. The farmer offered homemade raw sausage, homemade pancake mix, maple syrup, butter and had left some homemade tea cakes in the kitchen.

The location was remote enough and the idea of homemade food so tempting that I bought it. Anything less and I would not have.

I think she charged $18. Before I arrived we messaged to set it up and I paid via the AirBnB platform. The food was waiting in the kitchen. She also had a drop box inside the cabin to collect cash, and a sign if you wanted to call her to order breakfast.

The sausage was divine (I’ve since gone vegetarian), but I don’t think preparing foods like this and selling them to guests is a good idea.

When I was applying for insurance for my rental cottage the underwriter saw that my listing says breakfast provided and he wanted details. I quickly shifted to a different insurance carrier for other reasons so I don’t know what the outcome would have been.

I provide hot and cold cereal, milks, juice, coffee, tea, hot cocoa and fresh pastry, and condiments, complimentary to my guests, enough to last for their whole stay. Everything but the coffee in new sealed packaging, but even for that I have premium instant coffee for anyone who is worried.