Any experience with USAA for home insurance/STR insurance?

Hello, I’ve been hosting for a few months now and want to make sure all my bases are covered with my insurance. I have USAA insurance for my home, auto, and umbrella. I live in my home and rent out one of my rooms on AirBnB (soon to be two rooms). Before I started the USAA policy I called them and asked if it would be a problem if I rented out a room as a short-term rental. They said no problem, and I asked if it matters what site I get the renter from (I didn’t specifically say AirBnB), and the rep told me it doesn’t matter. I called back the next week and asked the same questions and was given the same answers. One of the reps even mentioned that the loss of use coverage will replace any lost rental income while I’m out of the house during repairs. Based on the information from the two reps, I set up policies with USAA.

I’ve been doing more reading on these forums and have seen several older posts by konacoconutz saying USAA wouldn’t cover short-term rentals and now I wonder if I was given wrong information by 2 reps. I trusted information given to me, but I don’t have anything in writing, and if I call back now, I’m concerned they’ll drop me or not renew my policy if they actually don’t cover STR. I can’t afford one of the supplemental insurance policies like Slice, as it will eliminate enough profits that it wouldn’t really be worth it to host anymore.

Does anyone have experience with USAA, and if so, can you confirm that they cover short term rentals or not?

I’ve called and asked them twice if I need additional coverage for my AirBnB, and both times they said no, as long as I live on the property.

Weird because when I asked them they practically hung up on me. They don’t insure Hawaii anyway so maybe the point was moot.

1 Like