AirBnB beginner fact finding

Hi All,

I am completely new to the idea of Airbnb with no experience whatsover but I have read a few things and found out that that it may be profitable if done right.

I am about to purchase a property in Wolverhampton as buy to let but will like to try it out with Airbnb with an exit strategy of single let.

my first of series of questions is: How can I establish if this property will work well with Airbnb i.e will i get bookings etc.

it’s a very beautiful and clean 2 bed semi detached house in a cule de sac just to mention .

Thanks for your anticipated response.

Regards
K

Hi and welcome to the forum, I’m glad you found this resource. It has been and continues to be a great resource on all sorts of matters.

Having an Airbnb can be wonderful or it can be a nightmare - a lot depends on the hosts’ prep and expectations.

First, I would check your community (HOA?), local (city), county and state regulations to be sure you can legally do Short Tern Rentals (STR). Just because you may find some in the area does not mean they are doing it legally.

Next, check the competition. How many are there? What do they offer?

Read, Read, Read - read everything on the Airbnb site. Know what you can and cannot do. Know what they will and won’t cover.

Check insurance coverage for non-owner occupied STR (not just rentals - STR is covered differently)

Read, Read, Read much on this site but keep in mind it is an international forum and as they say “your results may vary”. That is true even state to state in the US. Also, people tend to bring up issues on a forum not praises so remember that as much as we may complain, we are still doing it so the good outweighs the bad!

Last from me - I’m sure others will weigh in…stay in a few before you go “live”. Find put what you like/dislike. Then stay in your place as a guest to test run the place. Bring only what you would as a traveler.

Profit is only one factor - it should also be fun!

Good luck!