Advice on exchanging keys

Hi, I am totally new to hosting in Airbnb and last night had my first booking, we have confirmed the dates and everything is ready to go. Except I will not be in the country to hand over the keys to my new guests and I don’t have anybody to meet them when they arrive. I’m asking for advice on how other hosts exchange keys with their guests if they are unable to be there? Any recommendations would be really appreciated as I am new to this and want my first guests to be at ease when they arrive and have no mix ups on my first host.
Thanks in advance for your help

Um … really you should have thought about this before you started to host.

The easy fix is to get a keypad. But not to be around - to be not even in the same country - when your first guest arrives seems a bit irresponsible.

Who is looking after your rental while you’re away? Who will give the guests the house tour? Who will contact an emergency plumber if the guest has a problem in the rental? Who will be ensuring that the guests don’t make excessive noise? Who is stocking the place before the guests arrive? (And plenty of other things).

That person should meet your guests and hand over the keys.

6 Likes

Leaving them by the side of the road is always an option.

3 Likes

Are you in a city where a KeyCafe exists? We have those here, although I’ve never used the service. We have a keypad lock on the door. They are simple to install.