Advice for renting one room in my two-family house

Hi everyone. I’m new to this forum and hoping to become an AirBNB host soon.

I own and live in one 3BR unit of a two-family house in Massachusetts, and I have a master bad & bath on the top floor of my unit that I’d like to rent. I just looked at the master deed for my condo association and was discouraged to see “no unit estate may be leased for less than 30 days.” Has anyone dealt with a clause like this in the context of renting a room out in the property you own and permanently live in?

My entire condo association is just two of us, me and my co-owner (who does not live here but rents her unit to regular long-term tenants). So theoretically we can easily change the master deed. Unfortunately we don’t have a very good working relationship, and I am not optimistic about persuading her to amend the master deed. But I wonder if there is an argument that renting one room while I’m living here is something less than “a unit estate,” to be treated differently than leasing my entire 3BR property to tenants.

I am sure there are other hosts in Massachusetts who own one unit in a 2-family and rent out one room in their home. I can see their listings actually. I could message them through AirBNB to ask their advice, but I wonder if that sort of messaging is not well received. And so I look forward to advice from you all.

Thanks!

Well I am not sure about the legalities but since there are only two of you in the association, and she isn’t around I don’t see a big problem. Her long term tenants don’t know what is on the master deed.

I would just do it. What’s the worst that could happen? She finds out and forces you to stop?

Don’t message the other owners. Just open for business and give it a go. You can always deactivate if it doesn’t work out.

2 Likes