Advice for renting in law suite, with or without a living room

Hello, I am new to this and looking for any advice on setting up our space. Our home has an 1100 sq ft, 2 bedroom in-law area in the daylight basement, with kitchen, full bath, and laundry. The bedrooms are roughly the same size. There is a separate entrance to the area.

There is also a 400 sq ft rec room in the basement, which we’d like to keep for ourselves and our 2 young kids. The rec room is separated from the in-law area with a door.

We would like to rent out the in-law area, and I am considering whether to:

1. Convert one bedroom into a sort of living room with a comfortable sleeper sofa, TV, etc., so that guests would have the option of the space being a 1 bedroom and a living room, or a 2 bedroom space.

or

1. Not worrying about a couch, and putting a bed in each bedroom, with maybe a TV in one or both of the bedrooms.

Would either setup be more ideal? I realize I would have to be upfront with renters about the setup and having young kids in the house. Thanks for any help. I’m trying to plan ahead and make the most out of the rental.

Is there any way you can squeeze in a small love seat, TV and coffee table in any other space besides the bedrooms? Is there a foyer to the suite? Is the kitchen along just one wall? If so, how much space is there between the cabinets and the wall on the opposite side?

I personally like having a sofa to watch TV or read a book. However, I would be reluctant to lose a bedroom. It’s nice to have the second bedroom just in case you have a young family, there would be a bedroom for the kids.

I don’t like sofa beds because they’re so uncomfortable to sleep on. And a sofa bed can be easily be broken by kids jumping on the bed. The metal frames bend easily.

If the bedrooms are large enough, you can create a reading nook with a small round table and two wing chairs and a wall mounted TV.

2 Likes