Accessibility Options for Hosts

At the suggestion of @KKC, I thought I might start an accessibility thread. I’m a therapist and this is one of my speciality areas that I practice in and a service that I provide in people’s homes (mostly for the elderly but others as well). I’m thinking it’s something I can add to when I get time and I am happy to answer questions on specific situations as well for individuals (actually, specific situations are ideal, they are “real life”). It may be an interesting discussion as well as there is no end to the variation of homes/situations/listings among us all.

Not all hosts are going to be interested in making their listings accessible and that’s okay too (subtitled: “Why I Don’t List My Hand-held Shower Head as an Amenity”). There are also reasons not to include accessibility features or to list them. My own situation is (ironic, for sure :slight_smile: is a great example. When I thought about having an Airbnb my ideal was to really deck it out and make it ultra-accessible. I was dreaming big: transfer-lifts and all! I pictured quad-rugby teams mapping my place out for their next road games, hospitals with my card on the discharge desk, droves of dependent grandmas joining their families for vacation again!

However, I ended up with a nightmare of an old house in an old city with rigid ideas and strict front of house alteration permits, e.g. impossible to do a ramp :flushed: And even if I invested in an exterior mechanical lift to get people up the 7 stairs to the first floor, the inside of the house is a minefield of safety issues for most disabilities. So, I have hand-held shower heads but I don’t tick the box under “Accessibility Features” because I don’t want anyone to think that my house is Accessible just because they see “Accessiblity Features” pop-up. It could be a really bad situation for a guest who doesn’t read the whole thing, so I leave it out.