About co hosting

Hi! I’m a newbie here at the forum!
I live in the Philippines and it’s been a few month since I co host my friend’s condo unit. So far I’m loving it.
My friend doesn’t speak English and doesn’t even live in the country, so i take care of responding to messages, I prepare the unit for guests, welcome them, I am the one guests contact if they need anything, and after departure I am the one to clean the unit and do the laundry…My friend is pretty much only receiving the money from the guest.
I feel like doing all the host job without the host status… it is bit upsetting to me that I feel that all of this isn’t recognise by airbnb… even if I’m the one doing all the job…my reponse rate and other criteria to become a super host are all 0%… all my repons goes directly to my friend’s account… is that normal?
Now there are 2persons asking me to take care also of their units by january 2018 … I’m very excited about it! But I am wondering if I will ever see airbnb rate my work as mine or if it will always goes to the host?

Co-hosts – are probably never going to be appreciated, except by the people making money off of their efforts.

Sorry to say, that’s what a co-host is – a fancy name for someone “doing all the host job without the host status”. The only way to get public recognition for your efforts is to be a host yourself.

3 Likes

It’s clear you love hosting, so I’d say an attitude readjustment may be in order.

I assume the reason you don’t host yourself is because you don’t have the property necessary.

As such, you’re actually getting the opportunity to get involved in Airbnb by helping those with property but no time to host. This could be a lucrative opportunity for you once you prove consistently reliable, and will probably mean you can re-negotiate percentage payment rates / expand your property portfolio.

Further, at some point you may find a way to host a property on your own and you will have made all the mistakes on someone else’s listing.